Academic Board

Wednesday 3 November 2021¹

MINUTES

Present: Dr Michael Spence, President and Provost (Chair).

Dr Ali Abolfathi, Professor Ibrahim Abubakar, Mr James Agar, Professor Daniel Alexander, Mr Adnan Ali, Professor Lynn Ang, Dr Seth Anziska, Dr Manuel Arroyo-Kalin, Professor Jonathan Ashmore, Professor David Atkinson, Professor David Attwell, **Professor Jan** Axmacher, Dr Sakiru Badmos, Professor Maryse Bailly, Professor Angus Bain,

Shepherd, Dr Ruth Siddall, Professor Nadia Sidorova, Mr Justin Siefker, Professor Bill Sillar, Professor Ricardo Silva, Professor Angus Silver, Dr Samuel Sims, Professor Michael Singer, Professor Lucia Sivilotti, Professor Trevor Smart, Professor Sam Smidt, Professor Anthony Smith, Professor Kenneth Smith, Professor Alan Sokal, Professor Eva Sorensen, Professor David Spratt, Professor Kaila Srai, Professor Michael Stacey, Professor Andrew Stahl, Professor Claudio Stern, Professor Sacha Stern, Professor Michael Stewart, Dr Sherrill Stroschein, Ms Joanna Stroud, Professor Judith Suissa, Dr Mike Sulu, Dr Bugra Susler, Professor Ilias Tachtsidis, Mr Bryan Taylor, Professor Francesco Saverio Tedesco, Professor Cheryl Thomas, Professor Geraint Thomas, Professor Giles Thomas, Professor Mark Thomas, Professor Alan Thompson, Professor Julian Thompson, Professor Jon Thomson, Professor Ulrich Tiedau, Dr Matteo Tiratelli, Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker, Professor Helena Titheridge, Professor Pavel Tolar, Professor Kin-Fai Tong, Professor Ahmed Toosy, Mr Martyn Towner, Ms Helen Tsui, Professor Patric Turowski, Professor Liz Varga, Mr Clive Vassell, Professor Laura Vaughan, Dr Nalini Vittal, Dr Bella Vivat, Professor Ann Walker, Ms Yasmin Walker, Professor Michael Walls, Professor Nicola Walshe, Professor Johanna Waters, Ms Breege Whiten, Professor Duncan Wilson, Professor James Wilson, Professor Graham Worth, Professor Selina Wray, Ms Tor Wright, Dr Sophie Zadeh, Dr Vedran Zerjav, Professor Stan Zochowski, Professor Alimuddin Zumla.

In attendance: Dr Clare Goudy, Ms Natasha Lewis, Mr Nick McGhee (Secretary to Academic Board), Ms Olivia Whiteley.

Apologies: Professor Kathryn Batchelor, Dr Matthew Blain, Professor Ana Ferreira, Dr Claire Garnett, Professor John Gray, Professor Kirsten Hansen, Dr Quentin Huys-Gavric, Professor Lily Kahn, Professor Sir Peng Khaw, Professor Susanne Kuechler, Professor Jonathan Ledermann, Professor Xi Liang, Professor Gary Lye, Professor Frederic Malherbe, Professor Gesine Manuwald, Professor Usha Menon, Professor Lorraine Noble, Dr Stephen Potts, Professor David Price, Professor Kathy Pritchard-Jones, Ms Maria Sibiriyakova, Professor Jolene Skordis, Professor Joy Sleeman, Professor Sarah Spurgeon, Dr Amy Thornton, Dr Eleanor Tillett, Professor Andrea Townsend-Nicholson, Professor Georgios Tsakos, Professor Sarah Walker.

Part I: Preliminary Formal Business

1 ACADEMIC BOARD TERMS OF REFERENCE, CONSTITUTION AND MEMBERSHIP, STANDING ORDERS 2021-22 (Paper 1-01)

1.1 The Terms of Reference, Constitution and Membership, and Standing Orders for 2021-22 were noted. The Provost welcomed new members of Academic Board to their first meeting.

2 **TERMS OF REFERENCE OF OTHER COMMITTEES** (Paper 1-02)

2.1 Noted.

3 ACADEMIC BOARD MINUTES

5.2 Members noted the approach taken in the paper to the question of the balance between the pursuit of knowledge for its own sake and the solution-focussed, mostly interdisciplinary research carried out on questions posed by our community. It was noted that there was no reference in the papers to the concept of scholarship, and it was suggested that this potentially reflected a relatively narrow view of research informed primarily by a focus on scientific inquiry, the consequence of which was an overemphasis on a utilitarian approach. It was not always clear at the point of engaging in research how utilitarian that research would turn out to be. The Provost noted that the importance of thematic and problem-based research was highlighted in UCL

- 7.2 ExComAB had been established when AB adopted the recommendations of the Commission of Inquiry. In order not to delay the start of work, the temporary arrangement had been that its membership would initially be that of GCAB, but it had been agreed that this would transition to a devolved arrangement within two years. At the end of its first year it was proposed that the membership be partially devolved as set out in the paper. Elections would be required if the change was approved.
- 7.3 The Provost noted that the Chair of AB might normally be expected to be a member of ExComAB.
- 7.4 Academic Board approved the proposed temporary amendment to the ExComAB constitution. A call for nominations would be issued shortly.

Part III: Other Business for approval or Information

8 WORKING GROUP ON THE DEFINITION OF ANTISEMITISM (Paper 1-08)

8.1 Noted.

9 **CODE OF PRACTICE ON FREE SPEECH** (Paper 1-09)

9.1 Noted.

10 ACADEMIC UNITS (Paper 1-10)

10.1 Noted.

11 SUSPENSION AND EXCLUSION OF STUDENTS (Paper 1-11)

11.1 Noted.

12 **MINUTES OF OTHER COMMITTEES** (Paper 1-12)

12.1 Noted.

13 DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING

- 13.1 An additional meeting⁵ would be arranged later in this term for discussion of UCL's membership of Stonewall.
- 13.2 Meetings would be held in the spring term as follows:
 - Wednesday 26 January 2022, 14:05-16:00
 - Wednesday 9 February 2022, 14:05-16:00
 - Tuesday 15 March 2022, 14:05-16:00

⁵ Subsequently confirmed for Friday 10th December 2021, 13:05-14:45.