

# ACADEMIC COMMITTEE

# 14 June 2018

# MINUTES

PRESENT:

President & Provost

Dr Tracey Allen; Ms Wendy Appleby; Dr Simon Banks; Professor Piet Eeckhout; Dr Melanie Ehren; Dr Arne Hofmann; Dr Helen Matthews; Professor Alan Penn; Dr Hynek Pikhart; Professor Jane Rendell; Dr Ruth Siddall; Professor Anthony Smith; Ms Olga Thomas; Professor Andrea Townsend-Nicholson; Professor Gabriella Vigliocco; Professor Andrew Wills

*In attendance:* Mr Derfel Owen (Secretary to Academic Committee); Mr Chris Cook; Dr Clare Goudy; Mr David Lloyd; Ms Bella Malins; Professor Gudrun Moore, Ms Anne Marie O'Mullane (Minutes)

Apologies for absence were received from: Ms Sarah Al-Aride; Dr Paul Ayris; Dr Dame Nicola Brewer; Dr Simon Cane; Dr Celia Caulcott;

## Preliminary business

#### 33 MINUTES OF 20 FEBRUARY 2018 MEETING

33.1 **Approved** – the Minutes of the AC meeting held on 20 February 2018 [AC *Minutes 17-32, 2017-18*].

### Matters for discussion

#### 34 PROVOST'S BUSINESS

### 34A UCL East

34A.1 The Mayor of London had a launch event for the East Bank. East Bank would include UCL, Sadler's Wells, London College of Fashion (part of University of the Arts London) and the V&A including a partnership with the Smithsonian Institution and would be a new home for the BBC Symphony Orchestra &

Academic Committee – 14 June 2018

Other matters for approval or information

# 40 STUDENT EXPERIENCE COMMITTEE (STEC) -